Member Login

Forgot password?
Swimming Canterbury West Coast homepage


The largest ever Canterbury Representative swimming squad is making its way to Auckland on Wednesday to compete against the nation’s best, at one of the pinnacle qualifying events for the season.

Earlier this year, Swimming New Zealand announced that the ASA Auckland Age Groups Championships, would double as the final selection event for all athletes wishing to be considered for the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games, making it the perfect end of year target meet for the senior Canterbury Squads.

Selection to Swimming Canterbury West Coast representative squads is strongly contested by members from all around the region, with a limited number of athletes named to each age tiered squad, based on their individual performances throughout the swimming calendar.

The three senior squads, Silver, Gold and Platinum will be competing at the Commonwealth Games Trials, and include both able bodied and para athletes ranging in age from 13 to 24 years. They will be joining Canterbury swimmer George Schroder, based in Auckland and training out of the Swimming New Zealand High Performance Centre, and will each be stepping up to perform at this top level National Meet. 

Five members of the Canterbury Coaches group, David Prattley, Brigitte Mahan, Peter Burgon, Oscar van Stekelenborg and Ben Close, will be accompanying the team, on what will undoubtedly be an invaluable experience for all the Canterbury Representatives.

Regional Representative Team members are: Cameron James, Chris McFadden, Bella Wagenvoord, Hannah Bates, Jeri Masangkay, Natasha Johnson, Ruby Wagenvoord, Henry Crump, Olli Graves, Bree Middleton, Courtney Elliot, Ebony Maikuku, Emily Rennell, Katie McBride, Kaylee Jackson, Leila Rhodes, Lucy Gordon, Manaia Butler, Hunter Wilson, Thomas Wilson, Joel Nichols, Liam Moloney, Quinton Hurley, Holly Rahurahu, Annamiek Noye, Gus Kelliher, Nick Close, Ollie Rayner, Amelia Prusas, Alex Nash, Celyn Edwards, Henri Rollinson, Ieuen Edwards, Eva Cloake, Matt Gray, Matt Moore, Riley Taylor, Jack Sands, Lochie McKenzie, Charles Porter, Peter Nichols, Justine Owen, Leah Berquist, Evely Ponga, Bryn Rumble, Louis Clarke, Max Clark, Taiko Torepe-Ormsby, Thomas MacGibbon, William Campbell

The leadership group for the Squad was announced on Sunday, and is comprised of Ebony Maikuku, Emily Rennell, Chris McFadden, Cameron James, Charles Porter and Will Campbell.

Huge congratulations to all the Representative Squad members, and the leadership group, and best of luck for an awesome meet!!