Member Login

Forgot password?
Swimming Canterbury West Coast homepage

2021 SCWC Regional Championships & Para Swimming Event

This year's Swimming Canterbury West Coast Regional Championships were again held at Moana Pool in Dunediin and the meet was a huge success!

The meet took place over 4 days and 8 sessions, with 248 swimmers from 13 clubs from around the Canterbury and West Coast Region, and 12 clubs from elsewhere around the country, including members of the 2021 Tokyo Paralympics team, making the trip to Dunedin to compete.

A massive congratulations to all of our athletes on your amazing swims; with many fantastic PBs, National qualifying times, awesome medal winning individual swims and some very hotly contested relays, including a thrilling Hollander Cup relay- congratulations to the Jasi Swim Club on taking it out for 2021!

There were several outstanding performances during the Championships, with a Super Final for each event, where the overall winner for that event was crowned the Open Champion.

Congratulations to the following athletes who are the Open Champions for 2021:

50 Freestyle- Taiko Torepe-Ormsby (Wharenui), Erika Fairweather (Neptune)

100 Freestyle- Taiko Torepe-Ormsby (Wharenui), Erika Fairweather (Neptune)

200 Freestyle- Quinton Hurley (Jasi), Holly Rahurahu (Nth Canterbury)

400 Freesyle- Quinton Hurley (Jasi), Erika Fairweather (Neptune)

800  Freestyle- Quinton Hurley (Jasi), Erika Fairweather (Neptune)

1500 Freestyle- Quinton Hurley (Jasi), Brooke Bennett (Selwyn)

50 Backstroke- Taiko Torepe-Ormsby (Wharenui), Erika Fairweather (Neptune)

100 Backstroke- Satori Dobbie (QEII), Hope Chmiel (Vikings)

200 Backstroke- Taiko Torepe-Ormsby (Wharenui), Hope Chmiel (Vikings)

50 Breaststroke- Tom Dreaver (Wharenui), Kaylee Jackson (Jasi)

100 Breaststroke- Tom Dreaver (Wharenui), Kaylee Jackson (Jasi)

200 Breaststroke- James Currie (Jasi), Sarah Mabin (Jasi)

50 Butterfly- Taiko Torepe- Ormsby (Wharenui), Kaylee Jackson (Jasi)

100 Butterfly- Taiko Torepe-Ormsby (Wharenui), Hannah Bates (Aquagym)

200 Butterfly- William Campbell (Wharenui), Esme Paterson (Neptune)

200IM- William Campbell (Wharenui), Kaylee Jackson (Jasi)

400IM- Lachlan McKenzie (Vikings), Hannah Bates (Wharenui)

A complete list of results for all sessions is available on the SCWC website here.

A huge thanks to all of our Coaches, Team Managers and all our wonderful volunteers; whether you were an Official, helped with Time Keeping or Marshalling, Programmes and Raffles and Medals or food, or just helped out when you could- thank you, your time and efforts to make this meet the success that it is, are very much appreciated, and we couldn't have done it without you.